Category: Personal Skills Tutorial Program

Learning To Get Along Book Series

AbleData does not produce, distribute or sell any of the products listed on this website, but we provide you with information on how to contact manufacturers or distributors of these products. If you are interested in purchasing a product, you can find companies who sell it below.

The "Learning to Get Along" Book Series helps children learn, understand, and practice basic social and emotional skills with real-life situations, lots of diversity, and concrete examples. the series also helps those on the Austism Spectrum who may need additional reinforcement of certain behaviors. Meant to be read aloud, each book focuses on a specific skill and includes suggestions for games, role-play scenarios, and other activities to reinforce that skill. Additionally, each book includes discussion questions, games, activities, and tips that reinforce skill and ideas being taught. The set includes 15 softcover books and educational software.

Interactive software provides the books in a talking book format with word definitions, summary pages, assessments, and teacher management tools. Choose which books to make available to each child, they can follow along or read on their own.Includes User’s Guide with printable PDF. Performance is maximized on all Whiteboards, touch screens, and widescreen monitors. Scanning is automatic (one switch) and step (two switches).

"Accept and Value Each Person": This book introduces diversity and related character education concepts: respecting differences, being inclusive, and appreciating people just the way they are.

"Be Careful and Be Safe": Teaches basic skills for staying safe in ordinary situations and preparing for emergencies, including how to avoid potentially dangerous situations, ask for help, follow directions, use things carefully, and plan ahead.

"Be Honest and Tell the Truth": Words and pictures help young children discover that being honest in words and actions builds trust and self-confidence. They also learn that telling the truth sometimes takes courage and tact.

"Be Polite and Kind": Teaches manners by helping kids understand the importance of showing politeness, speaking kindly, using basic courtesies (“please,” “thank you,” “excuse me”), and respecting the feelings of others.

"Cool Down and Work Through Anger": Helps children learn to behave responsibly toward themselves and others as they develop skills of anger management. The book helps children see that when they cool down and work through anger, they can feel peaceful again.

"Join In and Play": This book teaches social skills for children using the basics of cooperation, getting along, making friends, and being a friend.

"Know and Follow the Rules": This book starts with simple reasons why we have rules: to help us stay safe, learn, be fair, and get along. Then it presents just four basic rules: “Listen,” “Best Work,” “Hands and Body to Myself,” and “Please and Thank You.” The focus throughout is on the positive sense of pride that comes with learning to follow rules.

"Listen and Learn": Simple words and illustrations help children develop listening skills, understand why it’s important to listen, and recognize the positive results of listening.

"Reach out and Give": This book begins with the concept of gratitude, because feeling grateful is a powerful motivator. Words and pictures show children contributing to their community in simple yet meaningful ways.

"Respect and Take Care of Things": This book encourages children to pick up after themselves, put things back where they belong, and ask permission to use things that don’t belong to them. It also teaches simple environmental awareness: respecting and taking care of the earth.

"Share and Take Turns": Concrete examples and reinforcing illustrations help children practice sharing, understand how and why to share, and realize the benefits of sharing.

"Talk and Work It Out": Children learn to calm themselves, state the problem, listen, think of solutions, try one, evaluate results, and even agree to disagree when a solution isn’t possible.

"Try and Stick With It": This book introduces children to the benefits of trying something new and the basics of stick-to-it-iveness.

"Understand and Care": This book builds empathy in children. In clear, child-friendly words and illustrations, it helps them to understand that other people have feelings like theirs—and different from theirs. It guides children to show they care by listening to others and respecting their feelings.

"When I Feel Afraid": Encouraging words and illustrations guide children to face their fears and know where to turn for help. Little ones also learn simple ways to help themselves. Includes a special section for adults, with ideas for supporting children when they feel afraid and a list of additional resources.

DIMENSIONS: Each book is 9 inches wide x 9 inches long.
WARRANTY/GUARANTEE: As stated by the manufacturer.


Price Check
as of: 
Additional Pricing Notes: 

Contact Manufacturer

Learning To Get Along Book Series